top of page
  • Romy Kraus

Genova Celebrates 11th Hour Racing Team's Homecoming as True Champions

American Team Wins The Ocean Race in Genova © SAILING ENERGY / THE OCEAN RACE

American 11th Hour Racing Team won The Ocean Race, arriving in Genova as champions on June 29, 2023. It's the first American victory in 50 years. Skipper Charlie Enright and Italian sailor Francesca Clapcich led the team to success. The World Sailing International Jury awarded the team four points, solidifying their win.

They received a triumphant welcome in Genova, with Enright becoming the first American skipper to win in The Ocean Race's 50-year history. Clapcich is the first Italian victor. Navigator Simon Fisher celebrated his second win, while Trimmer Jack Bouttell achieved back-to-back victories.

Media Crew Member Amory Ross documented the team's journey, emphasizing their commitment to ocean health.

11th Hour Racing Team members:

  • Charlie Enright (USA) - Skipper

  • Simon Fisher (GBR) - Navigator

  • Jack Bouttell (AUS/GBR) - Trimmer

  • Francesca Clapcich (ITA) - Trimmer

  • Other team members included Franck Cammas, Charlie Dalin, Damian Foxall, Justine Mettraux, Pierre Bouras, and Amory Ross.

The Ocean Race 2022-23 Final Overall Leaderboard available.


bottom of page