top of page
  • Romy Kraus

Ryan Gosling's perfect Ken-Moment: Barbie's 'I'm Just Ken' Wins Best Song at 2024 Critics Choice Awards

Oppenheimer, Succession and The Bear continue winning streak

The song "I'm Just Ken" from the movie "Barbie" was awarded Best Song at the 2024 Critics Choice Awards, held at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California on January 14. Previously, the song "What Was I Made For?" by Billie Eilish and Finneas, also from "Barbie," won the Golden Globe in the same category. This sets up a highly competitive race for the Best Original Song category at the Oscars, the first such competition in three years. The previous two Oscar winners, "No Time to Die" from the James Bond film and "Naatu Naatu" from "RRR," had also won the preceding Critics Choice and Golden Globe awards.

Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt, who co-wrote "I'm Just Ken," are celebrating their second Critics Choice Award in this category, having previously won for "Shallow" from "A Star Is Born," co-written with Lady Gaga and Anthony Rossomando.

Ryan Gosling, who performed "I'm Just Ken" in the film, received special thanks from Ronson during the award acceptance, highlighting his exceptional performance. Director Greta Gerwig was also thanked for incorporating an 11-minute progressive rock, power ballad, and dream ballet sequence in the film.

In other categories, Ludwig Göransson's score for "Oppenheimer" won both the Critics Choice and Golden Globe awards, hinting at a clear path to the Oscars.

The 29th Critics Choice Awards, hosted by Chelsea Handler, saw "Oppenheimer" winning eight awards, including

Best Picture and Best Director, while "Barbie" followed with six awards. In the film "The Holdovers," Paul Giamatti, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, and Dominic Sessa each won awards for their roles. The film "Killers of the Flower Moon" experienced a notable shutout, receiving no awards despite its 12 nominations.

On the television side, "The Bear" and "Beef" were the top winners, each securing four awards, followed by "Succession" with three.

James Mangold presented Harrison Ford with the Career Achievement Award, and Margot Robbie presented America Ferrera, her co-star in "Barbie," with the SeeHer Award. Ferrera's speech acknowledged rising Latina actresses Ariana Greenblatt, Selena Gomez, and Jenny Ortega.

The Critics Choice Association, representing over 600 media critics and entertainment journalists from the U.S. and Canada, organized the event. This association was formed in 2019 from the merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association.

Film Awards

  1. Best Song: "I'm Just Ken" – Barbie

  2. Best Score: Ludwig Göransson – Oppenheimer

  3. Best Picture: Oppenheimer

  4. Best Actor: Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers

  5. Best Actress: Emma Stone – Poor Things

  6. Best Supporting Actor: Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer

  7. Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers

  8. Best Young Actor/Actress: Dominic Sessa – The Holdovers

  9. Best Director: Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer

  10. Best Original Screenplay: Greta Gerwig & Noah Baumbach – Barbie

  11. Best Adapted Screenplay: Cord Jefferson – American Fiction

  12. Best Cinematography: Hoyte van Hoytema – Oppenheimer

  13. Best Production Design: Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer – Barbie

  14. Best Editing: Jennifer Lame – Oppenheimer

  15. Best Costume Design: Jacqueline Durran – Barbie

  16. Best Visual Effects: Oppenheimer

  17. Best Hair and Makeup: Barbie

  18. Best Comedy: Barbie

  19. Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

  20. Best Foreign Language Film: Anatomy of a Fall

Television Awards

  1. Best Drama Series: Succession (HBO | Max)

  2. Best Actor in a Drama Series: Kieran Culkin – Succession (HBO | Max)

  3. Best Actress in a Drama Series: Sarah Snook – Succession (HBO | Max)

  4. Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Billy Crudup – The Morning Show (Apple TV+)

  5. Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Elizabeth Debicki – The Crown (Netflix)

  6. Best Comedy Series: The Bear (FX)

  7. Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Jeremy Allen White – The Bear (FX)

  8. Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Ayo Edebiri – The Bear (FX)

  9. Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Ebon Moss-Bachrach – The Bear (FX)

  10. Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Meryl Streep – Only Murders in the Building (Hulu)

  11. Best Limited Series: Beef (Netflix)

  12. Best Actor in a Limited Series or Movie Made for Television: Steven Yeun – Beef (Netflix)

  13. Best Actress in a Limited Series or Movie Made for Television: Ali Wong – Beef (Netflix)

  14. Best Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie Made for Television: Jonathan Bailey – Fellow Travelers (Showtime)

  15. Best Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie Made for Television: Maria Bello – Beef (Netflix)

  16. Best Foreign Language Series: Lupin (Netflix)

  17. Best Animated Series: Scott Pilgrim Takes Off (Netflix)

  18. Best Talk Show: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (HBO | Max)

  19. Best Comedy Special: John Mulaney: Baby J (Netflix)

bottom of page